## EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF Monday, August 21, 2006

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4:30 p.m. on Monday, August 21, 2006, in the Board Room at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee William Beverly, President; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Vice President; Trustee Nathaniel Jackson, Secretary; Trustee Ray Gen, Member; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Member; and Mr. Julian Peters, Student Member.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Jeffrey Marsee, Vice President, Administrative Services; Dr. John Baker, Interim Vice President, Student Services; and Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs.

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of July 17, 2006 and the Special Board Meeting of July 24, 2006

The Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of July 17, 2006 were approved. The minutes of the Special Board Meeting of July 24, 2006, were approved as amended.

## Consent Agenda

It was moved by Trustee Jackson, seconded by Student Trustee Peters, that the Board approve items presented on the agenda in the following areas.

<u>Academic Affairs</u> Policy 4240 – Academic Renewal – Second Reading & Adoption Policy 4228 – Independent Study – Second Reading & Adoption Policy 4030 – Academic Freedom – Second Reading & Adoption

<u>Student Services</u> Student Field Trip Grants Community Education – Fall 2006

Administrative Services AB2910 – Quarterly Fiscal Status Reports Notice of Public Hearing – 2006-2007 Budget Destruction of Records Resolution Declaration of Surplus Property Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

<u>Measure E Bond Fund</u> Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee Calendar Category Budgets and Balance Contract – Sandy Pringle Associates Humanities Budget Modular Building 2006 Bond Resolution Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

<u>Human Resources</u> Employment and Personnel Changes Temporary Non-Classified Service Employees Resolution to Minimum Qualifications Revised Classification Specifications for Administrator Position

Motion carried. Student Trustee Peters recorded an advisory yes vote.

<u>Public Comment</u> Dr. Angela Simon questioned the efficacy of collegial consultation.

## <u>Memorandum of Understanding between El Camino Community College District and the</u> <u>Compton Community College District</u>

It was moved by Trustee Beverly, seconded by Trustee Gen, that the Board approve Memorandum of Understanding between El Camino Community College District and the Compton Community College District with the understanding that negotiation of a contract will be completed by December 31, 2006, and with changes to paragraphs 17 and 20 as shown below.

- 17. Notwithstanding Paragraph 16 regarding the term of this Memorandum of Understanding, or any other provisions of this agreement to the contrary, either party may initiate termination of this Memorandum of Understanding, or any subsequent agreements between the parties, by giving 90 days written notice to the other party and to the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. (The remainder of paragraph 17 remains the same.)
- 20. Compton shall save, defend, hold harmless, and indemnify El Camino in connection with any and all claims, actions or lawsuits that arise in any manner from the acts or omissions of Compton, its officers, employees or agents in the performance of this agreement or that arise in any manner from the acts or omissions of El Camino, its officers, employees or agents in the performance of this agreement. (The remainder of paragraph 20 remains the same.)

Motion carried with Trustees Beverly, Combs, Gen and O'Donnell voting yes. Trustee Jackson voted no. Student Trustee Peters recorded an advisory yes vote.

2

Board of Trustees

August 21, 2006

Public Comment

Nahasee Lee, Saul Pansky, President of Compton Student Body, Tom Henry, Miriam Alario, Evelyn Uyemura, and Luukia Smith addressed Memorandum of Understanding.

Meeting recessed to a closed session at 7:40 p.m. and adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Nathaniel Jackson, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board

3