EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF Monday, April 21, 2014

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, April 21, 2014, in the East Dining Room of the Bookstore Building at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee William Beverly, President; Trustee Kenneth A. Brown, Vice President; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Secretary; Trustee Cliff Numark, Member; Trustee John Vargas, Member; and Student Member Brooke Matson.

Also present were Dr. Thomas Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President/Academic Affairs; Ms. Linda Beam, Vice President/Human Resources; Ms. Jo Ann Higdon, Vice President/Administrative Services; Dr. Jeanie Nishime, Vice President/Student and Community Advancement; and Ms. Barbara Perez, Vice President/Compton Community Education Center.

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of March 17, 2014

The Minutes of the Regular Board meeting of March 17, 2014 were approved as written.

El Camino College Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee Annual Report

Mr. Kirk Ritz gave a presentation on the Bond Oversight Committee Annual Report. It was moved by Trustee Vargas, seconded by Student Member Matson, that the Board receive the Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee Annual Report.

Student Member Matson recorded a yes advisory vote. Trustees Beverly, Brown, Combs, Numark and Vargas voted yes. Motion carried.

Consent Agenda

The following changes were made on page 66 (Human Resources – Classified and Temporary Classified Services Personnel):

Item #12 – withdrawn

Item #15, 16, 17 – change from Step E to Step A

It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Trustee Brown, that the Board adopt the items presented on the agenda in the following areas:

Academic Affairs

Center for the Arts Presentation – 2014-2015 Season Destruction of Records

Student and Community Advancement

Grants – Applications and Acceptance

Board Policy 3200 (Accreditation) – Second Reading and Adoption

Information Item – Administrative Procedure 3200 (Accreditation)

Board Policy 5025 (Foreign Student Visa) – First Reading (Deletion)

Board Policy 5060 (Concurrent Enrollment of K-12 Students) – First Reading (Deletion)

Board Policy 5555 (Guest Speakers) – First Reading (Deletion)

Board Policy 5800 (Removing Pupils from School During School Hours) – First Reading (Deletion)

Destruction of Records

<u>Administrative Services</u>

AB 2910 – Quarterly Fiscal Status Reports

Adoption of Education Protection Account Funding and Expenditures

Audit Services 2013-14 through 2014-15

2012-13 Proposition 39 General Obligation Bond Audit Report

Categorical Funds Flexibility

Urban Land Institute

Planning and Budgeting Calendar

Contracts Under \$84,100

Contracts Over \$84,100

Personal Service Agreements

Amendments

International Student Health Insurance

Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

Measure E 2002 & 2012 Bond Fund

Category Budgets and Balances

Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

Human Resources

Employment and Personnel Changes

Temporary Non-Classified Service Employees

Amend Stipend for Compton Education Center

Declaration of Indefinite Salaries for Retroactive Pay

Revised Classification Specifications for Administrator Position

President/Board of Trustees

Absence of a Board Member

California Community College Trustees Board of Directors Election

Student Member Matson recorded a yes advisory vote. Trustees Beverly, Brown, Combs, Numark and Vargas voted yes. Motion carried.

Public Comment

The following faculty and staff spoke in support of salary increases:

Ali Ahmadpour Mary Ann Leiby Ann Ashcraft Willie (Pete) Peterson

Priscilla Baldwin

Josh Casper

Judy Salmon

Jeff Cohen

Luukia Smith

Momi Elliott

Debbie Turano

Francisco Esqueda

Angie Gardea

Samantha Greer (for Rebecca Greer)

Kim Runkle

Judy Salmon

Luukia Smith

Debbie Turano

Gary Turner

Maricela Vital

Steve Waterworth

Closed Session

Regular Meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 7 p.m. which ended at 8:12 p.m.

Mary E. Combs, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board