EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, January 22, 2013, in the East Dining Room at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee William Beverly, President; Trustee Kenneth A. Brown, Vice President; Trustee Ray Gen, Secretary; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Member; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Member; and Student Member Jasmine Hormati.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs; Ms. Linda Beam, Vice President Human Resources; Ms. Jo Ann Higdon, Vice President, Administrative Services; Dr. Jeanie Nishime, Vice President, Student and Community Advancement; and Ms. Barbara Perez, Vice President, Compton Community Educational Center.

<u>Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of December 17, 2012</u> The Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of December 17, 2012 were approved.

Presentations

Mrs. Elizabeth Noble announced her commitment to contribute \$2 million to establish the Elizabeth and Joe Boyd Noble Endowed Chair for Business. Mr. Mike Goguen presented the Foundation Annual Report. Ms. Leisa Biggers presented Ethics information.

Child Development Center Closure Proposal – Informational Item

Employment

It was moved by Trustee Brown, seconded by Trustee Combs, that the Board accept the withdrawal of the Superintendent/President, Thomas M. Fallo's resignation and approve a new four (4) year employment contract, subject to agreed language changes, commencing on February 1, 2013.

Trustees Beverly, Brown, Combs and Gen voted yes. Trustee O'Donnell voted no. Student Member Hormati recorded a no advisory vote. Motion carried.

Trustees Brown and O'Donnell left the meeting at 6:53 p.m.

Annual Organizational Meeting

The Annual Organizational Meeting is postponed to the February 19, 2013 Board meeting.

<u>Consent Agenda</u> It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Student Member Hormati, that the Board adopt the items presented on the agenda in the following areas.

<u>Academic Affairs</u> Proposed Curriculum Changes Effective 2013-2014 Academic Year Sabbatical Leave of Absence – 2013-2014

<u>Student and Community Advancement</u> Destruction of Records Accreditation Self-Evaluation 2014 Timeline (Revised)

Administrative Services AB 2910-Quarterly Fiscal Status Reports Non-Resident Tuition Fee for 2013-2014 2011-2012 Audit Report Contracts Under \$83,400 Personal Service Agreement Amendment Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

Measure E 2002 Bond Fund

Category Budgets and Balances
Contract Amendment – Hill Partnership, Inc. Architects – Industry & Technology Building Project
Contract Amendment – S&K Engineers – Parking Lot Lighting & Security Upgrades Project
Change Order – HPS Mechanical – Electrical & Data Conversion Project
Change Order – Taisei Construction Corporation – Math Business Allied Health Project
Notice of Job Completion – HPS Mechanical Electrical & Data Conversion Project
Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

<u>Human Resources</u> Employment and Personnel Changes Temporary Non-Classified Service Employees

<u>President/Board of Trustees</u> Travel Board Policy – 2365 – Recording – Second Reading and Adoption Board Policy – 2716 – Political Activity Board Members – Second Reading and Adoption Board Policy – 7370 – Political Activity – Second Reading and Adoption

Student Member recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

Public Comment

Sean Donnell, Emily Rader, John Iracian, Toni Newman, Chris Wells, and Nathan Leon addressed Child Development Center Closure Proposal. Brooke Matson addressed public comments. Chris Gold, Luukia Smith, Chris Jeffries, Nathan Leon, Sean Donnell, Jacky Eckland, Emily Rader, Jeff Cohen, Luis Mancia, Mina Colunga, and Jimmy Macareno addressed Superintendent/President employment.

<u>Closed Session</u> Regular Meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 7:26 p.m. which ended at 8:20 p.m.

Ray Gen, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board