## EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF Tuesday, January 16, 2013

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, January 16, 2013, in the Board Room at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee William Beverly, President; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Vice President; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Secretary; Trustee Kenneth A. Brown, Member; Trustee Ray Gen, Member; and Student Member Jasmine Hormati.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs; Ms. Linda Beam, Vice President, Human Resources; Ms. Jo Ann Higdon, Vice President, Administrative Services; Ms. Barbara Perez, Vice President, Compton Community Educational Center; and Dr. Regina Smith, Dean, Counseling.

<u>Minutes of the Special Board Meeting of January 7, 2013</u> The minutes of the Special Board Meeting of January 7, 2013 were approved.

<u>Search Consultant Presentations</u> Community College Search Services (CCSS) Professional Personnel Leasing (PPL) Ralph Andersen & Associates

Search Consultant Selection

It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Trustee Brown, that the Board table the selection of a Search Consultant to the January 22, 2013 Board meeting in a Committee of the Whole.

Student Member recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

## Screening Committee Considerations

It was moved by Trustee O'Donnell, seconded by Trustee Combs, that each Trustee appoint a Community Member from their current Trustee areas.

Student Member recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Trustee O'Donnell, that the Board accept the recommended President's Search Committee members.

Student Member recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

<u>Public Comment</u> Luukia Smith, Dillan Horton, and Nehase Lee addressed the composition of the Superintendent/President hiring committee.

<u>Closed Session</u> Meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 6:19 p.m. which ended at 8:30 p.m.

Ray Gen, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board