## EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF Monday, December 6, 2010

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4 p.m. on Monday, December 6, 2010, in the Board Room at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee Ray Gen, President; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Vice President; Trustee William Beverly, Secretary; Trustee Mary E. Combs, member; and Student Member Johanna Zamora.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs; Dr. Jeanie Nishime, Vice President, Student and Community Advancement; and Dr. Lynn Solomita, Interim Vice President, Human Resources.

Selection Process for Trustee Area 1

It was moved by Trustee O'Donnell, seconded by Trustee Combs, that candidates who submitted applications after 4 p.m. on December 2, 2010, would be eliminated. Motion carried.

It was moved by Trustee Beverly, seconded by Trustee Combs, that the Board interview Mr. Kenneth Brown, Ms. Mary Bueno, Mr. Kenneth Crowe and Ms. Marcia Wade.

With the concurrence of Trustee Combs, Trustee Beverly withdrew the motion.

Trustee Combs offered a substitute motion, seconded by Trustee Gen, that the Board interview Mr. Kenneth Brown, Ms. Mary Bueno and Ms. Marcia Wade. Motion carried.

Candidate Selection for Trustee Area 1

Candidates will be asked to make an opening statement not to exceed 3 minutes and a closing statement not to exceed 2 minutes.

Board members will develop questions to ask candidates during a 15-minutes period exclusive of the opening and closing statements. Candidates will be asked not to spend more than 3 minutes on each question. Candidates will be selected at random and will be interviewed one at a time. Candidates will be sequestered prior to their interview but may stay in the room afterwards.

## Public Comment

Dr. Quionnes-Perez and Mr. Vic Coutin addressed Selection Process for Trustee Area 1.

Adjournment Meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

William Beverly, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board