EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF Monday, October 17, 2011

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4 p.m. on Monday, October 17, 2011, in the Campus Theatre at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee William Beverly, President; Trustee Ray Gen, Vice President; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Secretary; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Member; Trustee Kenneth A. Brown, Member; and Student Member Joshua Casper.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs; Ms. Jo Ann Higdon, Vice President, Administrative Services; Dr. Jeanie Nishime, Vice President, Student and Community Advancement; Ms. Barbara Perez, Vice President, Compton Community Educational Center; and Dr. Lynn Solomita, Interim Vice President, Human Resources.

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of September 8, 2011

It was moved by Trustee Brown, seconded by Trustee O'Donnell that the Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of September 8, 2011 be approved as amended. Student Trustee Casper recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

Redistricting Trustee Areas

Ms. Ann Garten made a presentation on Redistricting Trustee Areas.

Consent Agenda

It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Trustee Gen, that the Board adopt the items presented on the agenda in the following areas.

Academic Affairs

Board Policy 4055-Academic Accommodations for Students with Disabilities – First Reading

Administrative Procedure-Academic Accommodations for Students with Disabilities – Information Item

Proposed Curriculum Changes: Effective 2012/2013 Academic Year

Student and Community Advancement

Fall 2011 Forensics Team Tournaments
Journalism Association of Community Colleges Regional Conference
Community Education Classes – Winter/Spring 2012
International Travels

Grants

Administrative Services

AB 2910-Quarterly Fiscal Status Report

Contracts Under \$78,900

Contract Over \$78,900

Personal Services Agreement

Declaration of Surplus Property

Revised Final Budget 2011-2012

Chancellor's Office Tax Offset Program

Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

Measure E Bond Fund

Category Budgets and Balances

Contract-Flewelling & Moody-Bookstore Assessment and Remediation

Change Order-American Gardens-Baseball Field Improvements

Change Order-Bomel Construction-Lot H Parking Structure & Athletic Complex Project

Change Order-Taisei Construction Corporation-Math Business Allied Health Project

Notice of Job Completion-Bomel Construction-Lot H Parking Structure & Athletic Complex Project

Notice of Job Completion-Southland Construction-Brick Veneer Replacement Project Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

Human Resources

Employment and Personnel Changes

Temporary Non-Classified Service Employees

New Classification Specifications for Administrator Position

New Classification Specifications for Classified Position

President/Board of Trustees

Recommendation for 65th Anniversary Sculpture

2010-2011 Board of Trustees Evaluation

Student Trustee Casper recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

November Board Meeting

It was moved by Trustee Combs, seconded by Trustee Gen that the November Board meeting be held on Wednesday, November 16, 2011 at 4 p.m. Student Trustee Casper recorded a yes advisory vote. Motion carried.

Compton Community Educational Center

Compton Community Educational Center Education Master Plan was presented as an informational item.

Public Comment

Mr. Nehasi Lee spoke of the El Camino Community College District Board of Trustees Meeting Agenda, the Compton Community Education Center Education Master Plan report, and the El Camino Community College District and Compton Community College District partnership and Memorandum of Understanding. Mr. Don Brown, Ms. Kate Beley, Dr. Emily Rader, Dr. Margaret Quinones-Perez, Ms. Darilyn Rowan, Ms. Chris Jeffries, Mr. Vic Coutin, Ms. Georgiana Coughlan, Dr. Elizabeth Shadish, Mr. Yotam Ravid, Ms. Sara Blake, Ms. Valencia Rayford, Ms. Sabra Sabio, Ms. Sue Oda-Omori, Dr. Joanna Nachef, Mr. Ken Key, Ms. Ann Ashcraft, and Dr. Elaine Moore spoke of various negotiation issues. Dr. Joanna Nachef, Dr. Hockwood, Ms. Helena Magdalena, and Mr. Vic Coutin spoke of music classes. Ms. Luukia Smith spoke of Board of Trustee supplemental materials.

Closed Session

Regular Meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 6:17 p.m. which ended at 7:50 p.m.

Maureen O'Donnell, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board