# EL CAMINO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF Monday, April 20, 2009

The Board of Trustees of the El Camino Community College District met at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, April 20, 2009, in the Board Room at El Camino College.

The following Trustees were present: Trustee Nathaniel Jackson, President; Trustee Ray Gen, Vice-President; Trustee Maureen O'Donnell, Secretary; Trustee William Beverly, Member; Trustee Mary E. Combs, Member; and Ms. Elise Yerelian, Student Member.

Also present were Dr. Thomas M. Fallo, Superintendent/President; Dr. Francisco Arce, Vice President, Academic Affairs; Ms. Jo Ann Higdon, Vice President, Administrative Services; Dr. Jeanie Nishime, Vice President, Student and Community Advancement; Ms. Barbara Perez, Vice President, Human Resources, and Dr. Lawrence Cox, Provost, El Camino College Compton Community Educational Center/Chief Executive Officer, Compton Community College District.

## Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of March 16, 2009

The Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of March 16, 2009 were approved as amended.

# El Camino Community College District Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee Annual Report

It was moved by Trustee O'Donnell, seconded by Trustee Beverly, that the Board accept the El Camino Community College District Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee Annual Report. Motion carried.

# Accountability Reporting for the Community Colleges (ARCC)

Ms. Irene Graff, Director of Institutional Research, reviewed the 2009 Accountability Report for the California Community Colleges. Board members discussed the report which will appear on the May 18, 2009 Board agenda for acceptance.

It was moved by Trustee Beverly, seconded by Trustee O'Donnell that the following three items be removed from consent agenda for separate action. Motion carried.

## Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note – 2009-10

It was moved by Trustee Beverly, seconded by Trustee O'Donnell that the Board of Trustees authorize the participation of the District in the issuance of a Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note for the 2009-10 fiscal year, not to exceed \$20 million.

Motion carried. Trustees Jackson, Gen, O'Donnell, Beverly and Combs voted yes. Student Trustee Yerelian recorded an advisory yes vote.

## <u>Resolution for Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note – 2009-10</u>

It was moved by Trustee Beverly, seconded by Trustee Yerelian, that the Board adopt the resolution authorizing and approving the borrowing of funds for Fiscal Year 2009 - 10 not to exceed \$20 million; the issuance and sale of a 2009-10 tax and revenue anticipation note therefore and participation in the Los Angeles County Schools Pooled Tax and Revenue Anticipation Notes Program for the 2009-10 fiscal year.

Motion carried. Trustees Jackson, Gen, O'Donnell, Beverly and Combs voted yes. Student Trustee Yerelian recorded an advisory yes vote.

#### California Community College Trustees Board of Directors Election

By ruling of the Chair without objection the Board voted for the following persons to serve on the California Community College Trustees Board of Directors.

Nancy C. Chadwick, Palomar Community College District Marcia E. Zableckis, Barstow Community College District Douglas W. Otto, Long Beach Community College District Manny Ontiveros, North Orange County Community College District Christopher Stampolis, West Valley-Mission Community College District Jeanette Mann, Pasadena Area Community College District Eva Kinsman, Copper Mountain Community College District

#### Consent Agenda

It was moved by Trustee O'Donnell, seconded by Trustee Beverly, that the Board adopt the items presented on the agenda in the following areas.

#### **Academic Affairs**

Center for the Arts Presentations – 2008/2009 Center for the Arts Presentations – 2009/2010 International Education/Study Abroad Program – Summer 2009 Proposed Curriculum Changes: Effective 2009/2010 Academic Year FTES Enrollment Projections

## Student and Community Advancement

2009 Summer Camp

Community Education Program for Summer 2009

Destruction of Records for EOPS

Grants

Board Policy – 5030 – Fees – First Reading

Expulsion – 2009-4

#### **Administrative Services**

**International Student Health Insurance** 

AB 2910 – Quarterly Fiscal Status Report

Contracts Under \$76,000

Contracts Over 67,000

Memorandum of Understanding

**Declaration of Surplus Property** 

Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

#### Measure E Bond Fund

Category Budgets and Balances

Contract – Koury Engineering, Inc. – Various Projects

Contract – Sandy Pringle Associates Inspection Consultants, Inc. – Bookstore Modernization

Contract – S&K Engineering Services – Electrical Conversion

Contract Amendment – Beck & Graboski – Campus Signage Wayfinding

Bid Award 2008-1A – HPS Mechanical, Inc. – Phase 3 Infrastructure

Bid Award 2008-9 – Marina Landscape – Parking Structure Landscape Project

Bid Award 2008-11 – Mackone Development – Bookstore Modernization Project

Change Order – Bomel Construction – Lot H Parking Structure & Athletic Facility

Change Order – Southland Industries – Energy Management System Upgrade Phase 2

Change Order – Airemasters Air Conditioning – Computer Room Air Conditioning Upgrade

Rejection of Bid Protest - Bid 2008 - 1A

Purchase Orders and Blanket Purchase Orders

#### **Human Resources**

**Employment and Personnel Changes** 

Temporary Non-Classified Service Employees

Classified Professional Growth

Eliminate Job Classification Specifications for Administrator Position

New Classification Specifications for Classified Position

#### President/Board of Trustees

Absence of a Board Member Conference Attendance Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee

Motion carried. Student Trustee Yerelian recorded an advisory yes vote.

#### Committee of the Whole

The Committee of the Whole opened at 5:12 p.m. to discuss the Brown Act and closed at 5:25 p.m.

# **Public Comment**

Nehasi Lee addressed partnership with the Compton District.

#### **Closed Session**

Meeting adjourned to a Closed Session at 6:10 p.m.

# Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Maureen O'Donnell, Secretary of the Board

Thomas M. Fallo, Secretary to the Board