# NATURAL SCIENCES DIVISION COUNCIL MEETING August 21, 2008 (FLEX DAY)

## **Present**:

# Faculty and Staff

J. Bellemin, G. Booher, J. Brothen, T. Bui, C. Cowell, F. Delos Santos, S. DiFiori, M. Ebiner, L. Fielding, N. Freeman, E. Goldmann, A. Grant, P. Hacking, C. Herzig, J. Holliday, M. Jimenez, N. Kadomoto, K. Key, R. LaFond, L. Leonardo, S. Leonelli, V. Lloyd, R. McLeod, T. Noyes, J. Oyama, T. Palos, S. Prieto, M. Santiago, L. Scharlin, J. Shankweiler, R. Shibao, L. St. John, M. Steinberg, M. Stupy, A. Tontcheva, S. Trench, Daniel Wright, S. Yoe

#### **Introductions**

- > Sara DiFiori, the new full time Earth Science faculty was introduced.
- ➤ The new part time faculty are: Sulaiman Abdulmalek and Manjit Grewall, both Biology; Karl Houben, Chemistry, and Olusola Sanwo, Anatomy.

## Recognition

➤ Jessica Padilla – 5 years of service at El Camino College.

# Fall 2008 Enrollment

- May have to cancel a Horticulture and a Biology 15 class due to low enrollment. Geography 2, section# 1273 was cancelled.
- ➤ The 8 week Astronomy 20 and Geography 1 classes have low enrollment; the decision whether to cancel or not will be made after the 2<sup>nd</sup> week these classes meet.

#### **Campus Committee Representatives**

The campus committee representatives are as follows:

Academic Senate – Chas Cowell, Chuck Herzig, Teresa Palos, and Dave Vakil Academic Technology – Jim Noyes and Margaret Steinberg

AFT Division Representatives – Robin Bouse and Ana Tontcheva. Anyone interested in becoming a representative, contact Joe Holliday for information.

Area Council – Chuck Herzig agreed to continue serving as the division representative. Please note: After the meeting, it was agreed that Thanh-Thuy Bui would serve as the division representative in place of Chuck Herzig.

College Curriculum – Vincent Lloyd

Division Council – Astronomy, Dave Vakil; Chemistry, Chas Cowell and Amy Grant; Earth Sciences, Chuck Herzig; Life Sciences, Steve Leonelli and Leigh St. John; Physics, Norm Kadomoto and Leon Leonardo; El Camino College Compton Center, Abiodun Osanyinpeju

Division Curriculum – Astronomy, Vincent Lloyd; Chemistry, Amy Grant; Counseling, Ken Gaines; Earth Sciences, Jerry Brothen; Life Sciences, Steve Leonelli and Teresa Palos; Physics, Eyal Goldmann

Division Planning – Astronomy, Dave Vakil; Biology, Teresa Palos; Chemistry, Rob Shibao; Earth Sciences, Chuck Herzig; Geography, Matt Ebiner; Horticulture, Ron LaFond; Physics, Eyal Goldmann; Pre-Allied Health, Jessica Padilla and Leigh St. John

Division SLO – Astronomy, Vincent Lloyd; Biology, Nancy Freeman; Chemistry, Amy Grant; Earth Sciences/Geography, Jim Noyes; Physics, Susana Prieto Safety – Christie Killduff and Jane Oyama

# **Academic Senate Report**

- ➤ Chuck Herzig will fill in for Kamran Golestaneh during Kamran's leave in the Fall, 2008 semester.
- A replacement is needed for Chas Cowell. It is a 3 year term and the term will begin in Fall, 2009.
- The Academic Senate meetings are held on the 1<sup>st</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> Tuesday of each month from 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the east lounge of the Student Activities Center.

#### Curriculum

- The following course outlines of record will be reviewed and revised this year: Chemistry 7A, Chemistry 7B, Physics 1A, Physics 1B, Physics 1C, and Physics 1D.
- ➤ Mr. Wallano from the El Camino College Compton Center requested to submit Biology 15 for a online course version.
- ➤ Jessica Padilla, Margaret Steinberg, and Simon Trench are creating two new courses, Anatomy & Physiology 34A and Anatomy & Physiology 34B.

#### **Program Review**

➤ Chuck Herzig will work on the program review for Earth Sciences and Robert McLeod will work on the program review for Chemistry.

#### **Additional Information**

- Faculty will print out their own rosters on Saturday, August 23, 2008, after midnight.
- > Attendance sheets will be distributed.
- No show reports are to be done online after the first class meeting and <u>all</u> no show reports are to be completed by Friday, August 29, 2008.
- ➤ When a student drops from a waitlist, the next student is moved up on the list. Students that are on the waitlist, are required to register for the class in the Student Activities Center after receiving an add slip from the instructor.
- > 3<sup>rd</sup> time repeaters will automatically be approved, they are to be treated as any other student adding a class. There are no 4<sup>th</sup> time repeaters allowed.
- Active enrollment reports are to be completed online.
- Faculty should keep attendance records.
- The class syllabi must include course objectives and SLOs. Faculty that have already finished their syllabi do not have to re-do their syllabi. Starting Spring, 2009 the course objectives and SLO are to be included in the syllabi. Jean Shankweiler will send a link to view examples of syllabus. Faculty were asked to submit an electronic version of their syllabi to Jean Shankweiler and a paper copy to the division office.

- > The Accreditation team will be on campus in the beginning of October, 2008.
- ➤ Clickers Dave Vakil wrote a grant and received \$82,000 to purchase clickers. The hardware and 7 sets of clickers are in the stock room. There is a "sign out" sheet and the instructions on how to use the clickers are listed on Dave Vakil's website.
- ➤ The parking lot issues were discussed. Students are allowed to park in certain staff and faculty parking spaces. Parking is available on the grass in the north soccer field. There's an option to park at the Galleria Mall and a shuttle will drive you to the campus. The shuttle will run every 30 minutes from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.